Join the kaDON team for these 60-minute workouts led by Emily Harada! Emily has been playing taiko for over 20 years with Ho Etsu Taiko, and served as a trainee with Taiko Center of the Pacific and Somei Taiko in Hawaii. With her experience as a licensed Athletic Trainer, she has incorporated functional taiko movements into at-home exercises to prevent injury and atrophy while our community awaits for a time when we can safely return to taiko-ing together!

“Hi everybody, these exercises were created to fulfill our community’s need to move our bodies in a way that mimics the physical aspect of playing taiko. I designed each of the below workouts to incorporate a range of movements that mimic certain motions and engage muscle groups that are used in these four different taiko forms. The basic muscle groups that each workout will focus on are shown below.”

-Emily

Please note that jumping, squatting, hopping, floor work and balancing will be involved in all workouts, however modifications will be offered for you to get the most for your body.

What do I need?

  • Bachi
  • Some space to move
  • A device to connect to Zoom (link provided to registrants 2-days before event)
  • A towel and a water bottle

Schedule:

Saturday, June 27th – Odaiko class
Saturday, July 4th – Beta class
Saturday, July 11th – Naname class
Saturday, July 18th – Yoko Uchi class

All classes are one hour in duration starting at 11:00 a.m. Los Angeles/1:00 p.m. Chicago/7:00 p.m. London

How do I register?

***All sessions will occur on Saturday at 2pm EST / 1pm CST / 12pm MST / 11am PST / 6pm GMT***

kaDON Subscriber $10 / class or $35 / 4-class bundle

Non-Subscriber $15 / class or $55 / 4-class bundle

You're not signed in. Please sign in here, or use the button below to register with non-subscriber price.

Non-subscriber Registration