Instructor:

Originally from Aichi Prefecture, Japan, Eri Uchida was a member of KODO for ten years. In addition to performing locally and internationally with the world-renowned organization, Eri also directed school presentations and facilitate several workshops for visitors from within and outside of Japan. Within KODO, Eri oversaw activities and training for incoming KODO apprentices and spearheaded a program where taiko players from outside of Japan could fully immerse and deeply experience apprenticeship conditions. After departing Kodo in 2019, she shared her ideas about taiko philosophy and workshop approach with Sydney Shiroyama (Occupational Therapist) and together created the concept of TaikoIN’. Through TaikoIN’, Eri shares the skills and philosophies she has learned from her taiko career with hopes of expanding the possibilities of taiko and community.

In 2020, Eri was one of kaDON’s earliest kaDON LIVE workshop instructors and led the insightful series “TaikoIN’ Body Awareness.” In these workshops, she guided over 80 participants from all over the world to discover a deeper understanding on how to connect their mind, body, and environment to achieve relaxation and efficient body movement.

Find out more and follow Eri at:
Web Site:  https://www.taiko-in.com/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/euchida/
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/taikoin/
Email: eri@taiko-in.com


Workshop Description:

Playing Katsugi Okedo is a popular taiko style that involves carrying a lighter taiko drum slung across the shoulder, thus allowing a player to walk around, as well as play on multiple sides. This opens up a variety of possibilities for free-styling and expression that isn’t as easily done on a taiko that stays in one spot. In order to expand this potential, it’s very important to grasp the basics first. 

So… what are okedo basics?

Basics establish the foundation for expressing yourself with the okedo. Katsugi Okedo can feel a little difficult to learn at the beginning since it involves more than just standing with a taiko. One could say there isn’t a single universal form since comfortability with katsugi okedo will be determined by each person’s own comfortability with their mind and body. Be curious about learning what is your body and how to use it naturally.  Once you discover what is natural for you, then you have your basics which will help expand the realm of possibilities for your okedo expression.

The purpose of this workshop is to explore this unique connection with the okedo and establish effective okedo fundamentals through body awareness. We will also utilize drills and concepts to practice how to use your whole body to generate a groove, as well as introducing the specific natural body movements and striking techniques for hitting both sides.

Question: “Do I need to have an okedo?” NO. Here is a manual of some at-home options that you can make: At-Home Katsugi Okedo Substitutes 

At-Home Katsugi Okedo Substitutes

This 4-session online workshop will begin by bringing the focus to our bodies first before hitting the taiko right away. The benefit of this is to establish a stronger baseline for which improvement and understanding of playing the okedo can build on, resulting in more effective katsugi okedo technique.

This workshop is open to ALL skill levels as the basics are very important for any level of taiko playing and are the key inspiration for deepening your expression on the okedo.

Schedule 

Class 1: Thursday, June 3 – Becoming One with Okedo
Class 2: Thursday, June 10 – Making a Groove Using Whole Body
Class 3: Thursday, June 17 – Mechanism of Stroke and Making Small Sound
Class 4: Thursday, June 24 – Natural Step and Striking Both Sides

All classes are one hour in duration starting at:

5:00 p.m. (Los Angeles)
6:00 p.m. (Denver)
7:00 p.m. (Chicago)
8:00 p.m. (Toronto/New  York)

The next day for the following cities:

1:00 a.m. (London)
2:00 a.m. (Madrid)
9:00 a.m. (Tokyo)

What do I need?
  • Some space to move your body and Okedo
  • Okedo or Substitute Okedo (at-home suggestions will be provided soon)
  • Bachi for Okedo – generally thinner and lighter than chudaiko bachi (Eri’s personal choice: Diameter of 1.8cm = 0.7 inch)
  • Strap to carry your okedo 
  • Pillow or cushion
  • Device to connect to zoom

Optional, but recommended

  • Big gym ball, the size that you can sit on and bounce (Highly recommended for understanding body groove!)
  • Tennis ball
  • Water
  • Pen and paper for note taking (optional)

Important Notes

  • Each live class is recorded (instructor view only) and is shared with the registrants
  • Each live class is followed by an optional 30-minute community hangout and Q&A time
How do I register?

You’re not signed in. If you’re a kaDON subscriber sign in and return to this page so you can get the special subscriber price. Otherwise, use the button below to register at the normal price.

Register now (non-subscriber price)